Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

On using Loctite for glow plug threads...

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

On using Loctite for glow plug threads...

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2003, 12:33 AM
Duie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default On using Loctite for glow plug threads...

Hey Guys, don't use "Blue Loctite" on the glow plug threads.

Years ago, I was a sales engineer for Loctite (Corp) [R], and I've had some experience using the stuff.........

Use only "Loctite 222" on those Cox parts. 222 is light purple, and is much weaker than "Blue". By the way, Blue is 242. The 222 is essentially a sealant, with low breakaway torque. The 242, while classified as a medium threadlocker, is usually too strong for small, aluminum (soft) parts.

Be sure to clean the threads first with dope thinner, etc., LET DRY THOROUGHLY, apply the 222, assemble the parts, and warm the head with a BIC lighter or equivalent if you're in a hurry to run the engine.

Comments to:
Duie
[email protected]
Old 04-20-2003, 01:46 PM
Jeff Leavitt

Default Compression....

Hi Duie,