RCU Forums - View Single Post - Parkzone Stinson Reliant SR-10
View Single Post
Old 11-29-2010, 12:20 AM
milehighjc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Parkzone Stinson Reliant SR-10

ORIGINAL: rgspemkt
Hi,

Well, it sounds like we're travelling parallel paths - somewhat. Irecognize your IDfrom the Super Cub forum.

I've been flying HZSuper Cubs (I got the old "red" one about 18 months ago and an LP last July so I could fly with floats).
I just bought the Stinson yesterday and put it together last night. I got a BNF as I bought a JR X9303 last week.

It's too windy to fly today, so I may just have to do some taxiing with the Stinson and see if it calms down later.

I'm a newbie when it comes to radios that exceed the ones that come with the Super Cubs, so I'm trying to
learn as much as I can about the 9303. One thing I'm concerned about is the the Spektrum AR500 RX in the
Stinson emits a continuous tone. The TXand Rx are "bound"as I have throt/rudder control on the left stick
and ail/elev on the right does this sound correct?

John

Hi John,
I think all of the Spektrum RX's have a bit of "squeal" to them. I first noticed on my T-28 when I first got it. Neither it, nor the Stinson seem to do it as much as when they were new. Im not sure if thats a "breaking in" thing, or just a matter of having really worked on getting the the control surfaces dead centered without using trim or subtrim. Maybe someone here can comment on that.

I think you will love the Stinson... I know I get the big kick out of it. Its a very graceful flyer.

I have a piece of velcro mounted on the plastic wing mount (leading edge) in hopes of minimizing the prop lines. Unfortunately, Ive not been able to get a camera flight in on it yet. The first time I went out, my cam battery was dead. The next time, I flew a "warm up" flight that ended in a NASTY crash. Ive been working to get it trimmed the way I like it, and fighting weather and short days now, so I still havent had the chance.