RCU Forums - View Single Post - Hangar 9 .60 P-51 with DLE20.
View Single Post
Old 08-06-2011, 04:41 PM
kiwibob72

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Hangar 9 .60 P-51 with DLE20.

Thanks for the feedback Ed.
Yeah, I had read how some have had issues with stalling etc on this plane in the thread I put a link too above. And as you say, I am a heli pilot first, so the reflexes etc and ability to fly the tail have become instinctive by default. The (overpowered) trainer I have is just to get the basic feel of a plane down pat re how it actually moves in the air, as to say flying the trainer is a piece of cake after the helis would be a huge understatement. That fact became apparent after the 1st flight I ever had on it.
After reading how the recommended elevator throws are a little high, I'm going to set my rates in accordance with that when I get around to setting it up. As for slow speed stalling on landing, I get the feeling I'll just have to get used to flying this one right down to the runway to negate that as much as possible.
While there are a lot of negative comments re those traits, there are still a lot of folk really enjoying their H9 Blue Nose, so I'll try to remain optimistic as to it's abilities, and also take my time setting it up to ensure EVERYTHING is 100% (managed it with the heli I guess), then keep the warnings in the back of my mind, and treat her with a LOT of respect down the line when I finally get it airborne - least she'll be powered well with that DLE20 under the hood!