RCU Forums - View Single Post - ESM T-6 Texan ii; 30cc DLE Engine Build
Old 04-29-2012, 07:55 PM
splais
My Feedback: (25)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default ESM T-6 Texan ii; 30cc DLE Engine Build

Since I could only find one write up on this plane (and that was for an electric conversion) I decided to provide a thread on the assembly of this plane. I have several years of experience with built up arf’s, but this was my first attempt with a composite airframe. I picked the 30cc T-6 because I wanted something a little different and I also didn’t want the cost associated with a larger 50cc composite. This will not be a “kit bash” into some kind of upgraded scale bird. Just a straight forward build of the stock plane using a DLE 30cc engine and ESM’s electric retracts. I had wanted to try the new electric retracts now available so this plane was a good opportunity to do that. The gear supplied were the generation 2 electric retracts from ESM.

So after I wrote the above and received the plane I almost decided not to go to the trouble of writing this thread. I was so mad at all the crap I had to re-engineer on the plane I didn’t think it was worth it. But I also decided people deserve to know what they are getting into. As things progressed I decided, that while the plane takes A LOT of work, when it’s done it is a gorgeous looking bird and flies beautifully.

This plane is supposed to be an ARF, but I would not suggest anyone get one of these that does not have a shop and a lot of experience – I would call this an A(almost)ARF for sure.

During the course of my build I encountered the following problems and or things you need to do above what I would consider normal ARF assembly:

-Two of the four wing servo plates didn’t fit.
-None of the three piece wing alignment dowels are pre-installed and the holes are not drilled.
-Both ailerons were warped.
-There is no hole cut for the split flat control horn to fit into.