RCU Forums - View Single Post - OS FP/LA -.15 Carb
View Single Post
Old 02-28-2013, 03:21 PM
guitarsbanjo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OS FP/LA -.15 Carb

I've flown a lot ofFP engines, and they all "slobber" fuel out from somewhere. And as far as longevity Ihave one I've been running since 1992I've taken it apart twice to degum it. It doesn't feel like it has much compression anymore, yet it runs; and it's black from all of the fuel that sprays out of the front bushing and carbuerator.

One of the places a lot of the fuel comes from is the venturi. I think that because the carb is an airbleed style, and not fuel meteringexcess fuel actually getsblownor drawnout of the carb and sprays all over the engine. The fp .40's and .25's that I have all do it, you can feel it (and see it) on your hands if you put your hand just behind the engine. I've oftenwondered if an extension on thecarb intake would fix that? Someday I'lltry it.