RCU Forums - View Single Post - Recommendations for those new to RC Flight
Old 03-22-2013, 09:17 AM
pmerritt
My Feedback: (118)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Recommendations for those new to RC Flight

I'm an old fart and not nearways snobbish but I'm about to become one of those quitters.  I've flown for four years now, self taught with Real Flight sim and started with ugly stiks, high wings and graduated to low wings and even some sporty planes such as the Revolver but I truly believe there are just some people that aren't cut out for this hobby, me bieng one of them.
     I have mostly bought "experienced" planes so the investment wasn't so high and have built at least 20 planes (arfs) and the ego got into this game and I know I have probably close to $20k in inventory now from boxes of unbuilt arfs to work in progress to final tweeking planes ready to fly. 
I know I have wrecked at least 25 planes and recently lost a brand new Revolver with a new Evo 60nx on her,a brand new PTS P51 modified for the new Evo 60 gas and just Sunday lost a nice 3D profile with a 125 saito on her after trying several landing passes with some 15 mph crosswinds and then gusts dropped on me on my final attempt and she headed right for me so I hammered the throttle and ran her through a fence post..  STUPID STUPID STUPID. 
     Seriously there are so many scenarios that can't be taught even on buddy box.  Most buddy boxers will do basics and when the scenario warrants will NOT let a trainee recover from a potential disaster so that isn't the cure for events that I have failed to handle properly.