RCU Forums - View Single Post - post some pictures of your pattern plane!!
Old 03-26-2013, 08:30 AM
Portlandflyer

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: post some pictures of your pattern plane!!

Thanks guys,
Yes I did paint it. The pictures don’t do it a lot of justice, but gives you an idea of how it looks.
If anyone is interested, True Fire is a painting technique developed by a Mike Lavallee. His company is Killer Paint. If you go to his web site you can see some pretty incredible pictures.
This was a fairly long drawn out process to get to where it is now. I had the idea of painting a pattern plane in True Fire, but had never done it. I have a pretty good background in airbrushing, but hadn’t done any for the last twenty years. At Coast Airbrush I found Mike had put out an instructional DVD. I studied the DVD several times and practiced on a piece of sheet metal. I must have about 1/8 of an inch of paint on that panel.
I had already committed to build the Arixtra so I knew it was going to be a challenge to do it and keep the weight down. The Arixtra fuselage is built by Krill and was ultra light, but the canalizer is about 4 oz, so I had that handicap going in. The wings and stabs are sheeted foam, so again, light, but not ultra light. I knew I was going to have to glass the wings and stabs to do the paint job, so throughout the build I ran I detailed spreadsheet on every gram that went into the plane. I didn’t commit to the paint job until I felt I could keep the final weight down. My goal was to be at 10 pounds 11 ½ oz AUW. When I got all done I had missed it a hair and it came in at 10 pound 13 oz.