RCU Forums - View Single Post - Katana 50 by Hangar 9
View Single Post
Old 04-27-2013, 04:23 AM
John Stainforth

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Katana 50 by Hangar 9

I have been flying RC for 5 years and have 10 planes, of which four are Hangar 9 products (Twist 40, Funtana 125, Spitfire 60, and Katana 50). My favorite of these three is the Funtana 125 powered by a Saito 125, which flies superbly and now has well over 100 flights. On the strength of this I bought a Katana 50 and powered this with a Saito 82. I put this together very carefully and used superior Dubro parts for control linkages and push-pull for rudder, and used exactly the servos you recommended, e.g., Spektrum 6060's for the ailerons. The engine was fully run in before mounted on the plane and runs very smoothly; there is very little vibration compared with my Saito 125 on the Funtana 125. I also set up the servos on the Katana exactly as per the manual with the rates that you recommend, even though this necessitates very bad mechanical "disadvantage" between control horns and servo arms. All this is to pre-amble to my expectation that the Katana would fly very well. This is what happened:
Flight 1: Flew perfectly off the ground and required very little trim adjustment. I flew it round at about half throttle, like a trainer, and did a stall test. About 4 minutes into the flight the left aileron suddenly flew off, which totally took me surprise, but I was able to land the plane immediately and very gently. The aileron looked as though it had been wrenched off very hard, since the fibre hinges had been ripped off with the surrounding balsa.