RCU Forums - View Single Post - New to hobby and looking for recommendations
Old 07-11-2013, 09:49 AM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: New to hobby and looking for recommendations

ORIGINAL: Boostedeco

Lol it's funny you mention the ecx torment. We were just at the local hobby shop last night and that was the truck he wanted and was dead set on. It was $190 there but haven't looked online yet to compare prices. I'm not dead set on brushless but figured if i could get a brushless in my price range i would. However i am fairly set on the amount of money to spend which I know limits my options but its for a Young boy and didn't want to go crazy with the amount of money i spend. I'm not so much worried about the speed for him but more the durability. Another thing I didn't mention is I'm a cnc machinist/toolmaker for a living so I can make parts to add to the durability of a rc vehicle. Thanks for the input and after reading a lot of reviews I think the caldera 10e truck is my leading candidate currently.
caldera is a good truck. and 4wd does make it more offroad capable.
The ECX has the advantage of being supported by more hobbyshops. Not all hobby shops carry redcat. Make sure yours does, cause if not you will be ordering any parts offline.

If you can CNC your own parts, that would be sweet. Only major issue owners have with the caldera is the pivot screws which hold the steering hub to the C hub tend to back out (self tapping screw into plastic were there is a lot of vibration)
There are alloy upgrade parts, but it runs nearly $65 for both. If you can CNC your own that would be really cool.

The torment I am gonna say is a bit tougher than the caldera. Partly cause it is a tad slower, but also cause it is lighter with less moving parts (2wd vs 4wd) I doubt your son will be disappointed with the torment. Ive owned one and it was a good truck. good all-around truck.