RCU Forums - View Single Post - General Hobby Raven 30cc 74 inch
View Single Post
Old 12-03-2013, 07:52 AM
georgiateddy
My Feedback: (11)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Fellows,

Ive had some time to consider the Skyline Raven 30cc build and a few additional comments are needed. The DLE35RA was a great choice; however, some throttle servo housing fabrication was necessary. The ARF comes with a pre cut servo throttle housing that must be put together. The predicted location would not work with the DLE 35RA without rotating the carb. The problem was it interfered with the lines of the manual choke. I had to get creative. Im a much better builder than a pilot so the modification and fabrication was not that difficult. Actually I think my design worked better. It allowed my throttle arm to be much shorter @ 3.5 inches. I used non metalic goldenrod "stiff".

Earlier I mentioned to CA the blind nuts on the cabin cap. The blind nuts were in place and functioned great. One eventually pushed out which could have been prevented if I used CA during the build. The plane encounters vibration and stress during flight so any strengthening efforts on the ground are beneficial. The cowl is absolutely beautiful and has the rock solid mounting ring. During the initial phase of building I placed the DLE 35 on the firewall to check cowl clearance. Wow it was very close but did clear by 1/16th. After a night of consideration I went with one thin washer on all the mounting bolts. The results were a notable clearance of about 1/8 inch. As a note the DLE 35 did clear the cowl without washers. For some builders the close clearance would have been fine but I sleep better with about 1/8th minimum (DLE 35 is 160mm firewall to prop wash, DLE 30 is 162mm firewall to prop wash).