RCU Forums - View Single Post - Building the Hangar 9 Cessna 182 Skylane
View Single Post
Old 01-04-2014, 10:34 AM
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My Cessna is coming along well. I also bought the lights from Electro Dynamics and found people there both communicative and extremely helpful.
I ended up buying the "complete set" because I wanted control over all the lights, or the ability to switch on or off all the lights, rather than the default of having the Nav lights come on when the receiver switch is turned on.

It was only after I started playing with the lights that I discovered the 3-stage switch assumes the first output to go active upon getting power from the battery, meaning the red/green lights and the tail group lights would always be on.
A solution to that would have been a second switch and due to the high postage cost and my impatience getting the plane flying, I decided not to proceed with that.
The outcome was that I have an Rcexl kill switch controlling the power to the lighting system. The kill switch connects to channel 9 in the receiver and the nav lights controller connects to channel 10.
The sequence now is this:
Upon powering on the plane, all lights are off.
Flip an assigned switch on the Tx and the red/green tip lights plus the tail group comes on
A 3-position switch on the Tx then turns on the strobes in the middle position and the landing lights in the top position.

My next plan will be to come up with a mixer that automatically turns on landing lights when the flaps are extended

Here are a couple of short videos of the plane with the lights on:
http://s105.photobucket.com/user/apa...288-1.mp4.html
http://s105.photobucket.com/user/apa...289-1.mp4.html

On another note, yesterday we had a small fly-in at our new field. Several select guests were invited so we had some 30 pilots flying.
Even though the wind was strong (up to 20Kts) it didn't stop the flying and we all had a ball!