RCU Forums - View Single Post - Model Aviation, Model Airplane News... disappointed
Old 07-27-2015, 07:06 PM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I've been writing for over 30 years so getting a 'free' this or that means very little to me. I know the guys at the field get all boogie-eyed when I bring another plane out there to test fly and I hear the 'Must be nice' comment more than I care to count - BUT like you said, it takes a lot of time to review a model and the guys don't really know all that goes into a 'review'. For example, here at RCU you actually write the CODE, not just the words! Other places like RCG make it a bit easier to write but there are challenges there also. I've written for glossies (RCM, Fly R/C and once for Model Aviation). The problem with 'glossies' is the word count limit....Try to say all they want you to say and just to do that often limits where you discuss problems that arise. When I wrote for RCReport there was a MINIMUM word count or you got docked in pay! I remember once turning in a Product Review of a plane and Gordon yelled and screamed that there wasn't anything wrong with the plane (according to my review)! So I had to go back and find something bad or wrong about it - he said there has never been a perfect kit and I have to agree with him.

The ARF I'm currently reviewing has racked up 4 or 5 'bad' things and only 3 positive comments so far and yes, they will be published just as written. The only time a manufacturer has changed anything I wrote was because of a technical error on my part. One company withdrew their ad in the magazine because I gave the a plane a 'It's O.K." but not the best thing since sliced bread! Too bad for them as I won't make it all fuzzy if it isn't....

I've also turned in reviews that never were published because of what I said - no big deal to me - and if anyone asked about that plane, I told them what I thought of it. Again, no biggie either way.