RCU Forums - View Single Post - Hangar 9 60cc Corsair
View Single Post
Old 08-17-2015, 02:58 PM
Herc Pilot
My Feedback: (15)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all. I'm new to the thread and haven't read through everything here yet, but figured I'd share my experiences with this plane at 18 flights in hopes that my comments may help someone here.

The setup is..
Evo 77cc radial
McDaniel onboard glow powered by 2x 5000mah nimh batts w/ Booma RC balancing switch
32oz RotoFlow tank
Robart electric retracts w/ recommended Robart controller, wheels, etc.
JR 12 channel power safe receiver
2x 3200mah Life batts
JR 8711 on all surfaces
Spektrum mini digital servos on main gear doors
eFlite lighting and bomb release mechs
Led machine guns, etc.

I won't go into a lot of detail here since I'm sure most issues have been found in this thread by now, but will share my experiences.

The build...

Overall good quality parts. Paint match was good, but center section had been bagged before paint had cured and has left permanent dull spots where plastic bag touched paint. Would not buff out. Center section to fuse and panel fitting is great. The clear plastic lenses for the nav lights did not fit in any way, shape, or form. Rudder was twisted and counter balance didn't match with rudder straight. Twisted with heat to solve. Continuing build showed that most parts fit well. Stab fit was good. Cowl mounting seemed ingenious until flight 18, mentioned later. Hardware was decent, but hinges were sloppy and weak and should not be used. The covering is terrible. Seams are in awkward spots and the covering over the fiberglass parts has wrinkles that cannot be removed. I realize the color is tough to work with for iron on film, but this was among the worst I've seen, esp considering the price tag, you'd expect top quality ARF.