RCU Forums - View Single Post - Gas to glo plug.
View Single Post
Old 11-16-2015, 10:36 PM
bcchi

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Smile Gas to glo plug.

In about 1949 I install a glo plug in a Ohlson 23 and it ran great with no battery.I had been running with the points and spark coil and dry cells,which did not last long.I said I would never put a spark plug in a model airplane engine again.
This was true until about 1980 Then I started playing with spark Ign and to make a long story short . This was the begenning of C&H Ignitions.I was told at a trade show by a popular writer that I would never sell on of those crazy things.
Well we didn't sell one we sold over 15000 of them.We sold to nearly all of the US engine builders ,at that time there was over a dozen of them.We also sold to several of early RPV builders .The Army,Navy and Boeing Co.I said then I would
never put another Glo Plug in a model engine and didn't until about three weeks ago.My good friend had been flying the OS 10&15 glo gas all season and he thought they were great no problems.Never burned out one glo plug.Well I still like to do R&D
Roar and Dink around my wife calls when I used to tell I was going flying to do some R&D.research and development on the CH ignition.I cannot believe I done this,me of all people.But my friend gave me a gas glo plug.And I had a 10MM to 1/4x32
adapter .I put it in a DL 30.Made bets around the field if it would run and how bad it would run if it did.To my total amazement it started right up and seem to run fine never touched the carb adjustment. It idled fine an throtel response was great no burble