RCU Forums - View Single Post - old timers look here must be 50+ years only
Old 12-02-2015, 09:58 AM
Telemaster Sales UK

Received 146 Likes on 123 Posts

Hey Donny! Did you realise that this thread is a year old today and look how many posts have been put up?

Funny Story for you:

Having crashed both the Acrowot Foam and the WOT 4 Foam-E earlier in the summer, I was left with two serviceable motors, batteries, speed controllers and a number of little servos. "I know," thinks I, "I'll build another version of the first r/c model I ever built, the St Leonard's Models "Gemini," which I built in the late 1980s." This was a 49" trainer to which I fitted an Irvine 21 glow engine. It looks a bit like a Cessna but with a parallel wing planform and it proved to be too fast for me but I'm not a novice anymore so I should be able to manage an electrified Gemini.

Now there's a man in England called Tim Calvert who runs a business called Model Markings.I thought that the model would look nice with "Gemini" in vinyl letters on the fueslage side and on one of the wings. I sent Tim an order for three vinyl signs. These were duly cut out and sent to me.

Having retired to rural France, I live in a village, Loudouiex St Pierre, LSP for short, which is the centre of a Commune.The Commune of Loudouiex St Pierre consists of 75 other villages or hamlets including the principal village itself. Being the principal village, LSP boast an infants' school and kindergarten, a church, a mairie, which is the local administrative centre supervised by the mayor, ("maire" in French) a public toilet, a cafe-bar which is for sale if you want to buy it, and ... and this is important, ... a post office. All of these are in or close to La Place De L'Eglise or The Church Square. So is my house. If you wanted to, you could easily throw a stone and hit the post office from my front gate. My house used to be a "presbytere," a house where the priest lived, but that is not its official address.