RCU Forums - View Single Post - VK Model's Nieuport 17, kit from 1972!
View Single Post
Old 11-14-2016, 08:50 PM
otrcman

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by rowarrior
yaw gyro? thats cheating!!!

Whatever floats your boat. One of the things I love about building model airplanes is that we all get to do it just the way we want to.

But I put a premium on not only realistic static appearance, but also on realistic dynamic motions in flight. Even as a kid, I hated those phoney looking rocket ships in the old Flash Gordon serials.

As an aero engineer, I'm aware that simply scaling down an airplane means more than reducing all the linear dimensions by the same amount and painting it the same color. In a still photograph, a well scaled model can look very realistic. But in a video the motions don't look at all realistic. People get used to seeing models flit about. A trip to the local airport will show just how smoothly full scale airplanes do fly.

People comment on how much more realistic the big third scale models look in the air. That's true, and it's because the degree of scaling is much less than, say, 1/8 scale. What you see when watching a model in flight is that the inertias and damping of the model do not scale in proportion to the rest of the model. This is inescapible; it has to do with the density of the model and the distances of the various components from the center of gravity. Unfortunately, the only size that accurately reproduces the inertia and damping is 1 : 1. No other size, larger or smaller, reproduces these dynamic components.