RCU Forums - View Single Post - Towing a Trailer
View Single Post
Old 11-08-2003, 01:45 PM
phread59

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Towing a Trailer

Hello Hub:

Maybe I can help you. I was a Mopar technician for 17 years. The thing about a Voyager/Caravan is they do not like a lot of weight on the tail. You must keep the tounge weight down. I will guess around 400 pounds or less. I think 200 is a better guess.These are guesstimates. You will have to play with them. I am not sure but load leveling bars would probably allow higher weights. Ask some one at a U-haul or similar place. I am not real familiar with them. I do know they will allow a heavyer than normal load.

You must put electric trailer brakes on them. The standard brakes are ok for flat areas and slow speeds. But highway 55 and up speeds you will quickly overheat them. An electronic controller are easy to install. I believe that Teconsha(?) makes a small one. Check with a dealer many times they have access to easy to install aftermarket parts that are designed to fit your vehicle. They have harnesses and brackets ect. that would make the job easy. And prices are reasonable.