RCU Forums - View Single Post - Fixing treads on a Tiger I
View Single Post
Old 05-21-2022, 05:09 AM
Crius

Received 313 Likes on 259 Posts

Since you ask, yes, I do have a bit of advice. Above you say you're still a newbie to the hobby, don't sweat that part, I've been doing this for almost ten years and I still feel like a newbie all the time. Next, check the website for Taigen Tanks and you'll find that Erik has some good how-to videos there for tracks, including a good one on removing pins and taking them apart. Next, it's always good to have matching tracks, sprockets and idlers, but if you're going to spend that much I think I would go ahead and get the Taigen lower hull. It has torsion bar suspension, adjustable track tension and is generally a much better hull than the heng long and you can usually get them for just about 60 to 90 bucks. Taigen is out of stock, but zanda has them here https://www.zandatoys.com/1-16-torro...ension-system/

But be sure to shop around as this may not be the best deal. Zanda is at least $10 more than Taigen, but Taigen is out of stock. I would check ebay, where you should be able to get a better price. But even at the 80 bucks zanda wants this is still one of the best upgrades you can make for your tank. With minor mods the heng long upper hull will mount just fine and then you'll also have a lift off top. For just a few bucks more than the idler adjust kit you can have a whole lower hull with adjustable track tension, torsion bars and metal suspension arms. But if you go his route I think the shoulder wheels would also have to be replaced, but I even have a set of spare plastic shoulder wheels around here somewhere so I could probably help there at no charge except whatever postage is involved. I usually just give parts away but I do ask guys to cover postage, just so you know.