RCU Forums - View Single Post - Multiplex Easy Star, construction, flight report
Old 03-20-2004, 11:00 AM
aman_74

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Multiplex Easy Star, construction, flight report

I'm a newbie and have done a ton of research and pretty much feel this is the one I'll end up getting. I have a couple questions for ya if you have the time. I read through some of the huge 3 part thread, but that gets to be a bit much. I've checked into the T-52, Sky Scooter Pro2, Aerobird, T-Hawk, Graupner, Slow Stick, and many, many more. This one apeals to me the most because of the pusher and most importantly the wind handling ability. I know I should start out with no or extremely low winds, which I will, but once I get that under my belt I'll need a plane that can handle at least 5-10, it is always windy here and if I get a Slow Stick I won't ever be able to enjoy it. So here's a few questions.

-I don't need a 3D plane, I'm being realistic, but I also don't want to get bored too fast if I catch on this summer. I heard this plane can do loops, can it do anything else? I've heard it compared to the Graupners, which I think can do rolls, no? The Terry or the Tipsy maybe? Is it more reliable than a Graupner, because they interest me as well.

-how are my options motor wise? I probably won't use the stock motor, I have overly sensitive ears and believe it or not electrics are too loud for me too be around. What are my options for a quieter plane. I hear the AXI outrunners are quiet, but I'm unsure if that's because of direct drive, brushless or the outrunner design. I'd like something quiet, but as a newbie I don't see the need to spend big bucks on brushless. I know the brushless need a different ESC or receiver, not sure which, are those parts more than for the brushed motors as well? That could really run up the price.