RCU Forums - View Single Post - GWs A10 EDf55's
View Single Post
Old 04-21-2004, 09:23 AM
dbl8ts

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

ORIGINAL: markysharky

Hello, sorry to be a complete dunce (im new to this, and yes i have run searches) but i have a couple of question i hope you guys can help me with.

When it comes to new technology, no one is a dunce. I have been there, done that, and I am only a few steps past that.

1. Is it a case of the larger the EDF motor number the larger it is, and if so do you need larger engine cover things (how technical) for large motors (i.e. 113mm)?

Yes. The original configuration was an EDF-50 with a very small motor. However, the 50 represented the size of the shroud or motor housing. Thus, the EDF-55s are larger than the 50s. However, the 55s hold 150, 300, 350 and 370 class motors. Also, the nacelles (engine cover things) for the 55s are larger than the ones for the 50s.

2. What is the difference between a brushless motor and a normal one other than double price?

I cannot give you the technical specifics, but I know that the brushless generate more tork and negate the need for gearing your applications. Brushes wear out eventually and must be replaced where possible or you must buy a new motor. That is all I know about the difference, other than price, and it is as simple as I can make it.

3. I have a spare battery that i dont need for airsoft so will the GWS A-10 take it? It's a 8.4V 3000mah Nimh with a large conector.