RCU Forums - View Single Post - 4 Star 60 Pushrod Conversion...
View Single Post
Old 10-14-2005, 08:12 AM
Sukhoi_Madness

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 Star 60 Pushrod Conversion...

This is a “How To” on changing over the 4 Star 60 braded throttle cable system to a solid push rod system.

This is my first build and so I am not an expert and the following example has not been handed down from God on a stone tablet… But it worked!!! And so I thought I would share it… Being that 4 Star 60's are very popular on this board...

For those who don’t know the 4 Star 60 has a “Snake” system for the throttle pushrod. This consists of a thin braded wire cable running through a plastic tube from the throttle servo to the carb of the engine.

When I saw this system for the first time I thought it looked dodgy… And I now hate it!!! It is very fiddly to install and a general pain in the bum!!! Although I know a lot of builders have used it with great success and some use the system exclusively.

The main reason why my Snake was not going to work was that I cut the plastic tube it runs through off at the fire wall, meaning that the braded cable had to run about 4 inches to the carb outside of the plastic tube causing the cable to flex and the connection between Servo and Carb to become sloppy and indirect. I realize at this point that it is my fault the system failed but I had only done what the plan pictured. To bad the plan was for a 4 stroke engine which has the carb against the fire wall. I put this down to inexperience after saying a lot of swear words…

To complicate things further I want to fly this Airplane in two days and my LHS is not open until next Monday so all I had to work with was what came with the 4 Star and the hardware pack that came with my GP RV-4 which I am building too.