Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

Fairly new to Electrics, need some help.

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Fairly new to Electrics, need some help.

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2006, 01:05 PM
CGRetired
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Fairly new to Electrics, need some help.

I am fairly new to Electrics. I've been flying fuel for some time now, so I am not a novice flyer. In fact, I have two flyable 90 size pattern planes that I fly regulaly.

There is a big difference between fuel and electric, mainly being, if I add a few ounces of weight to my Venus II for instance, no big deal. I am turning a 15-10 prop with an OS 1.20 AX engine. I can probably add a pound or two and it will still fly just fine.

I have learned that ounces, even grams make a big difference with the electrics. I have a Charger flattie. It has four of the little HiTec servo's, and an Ultrafly B/06/10 1000kv motor. I have two ESC's that I have tried, one is a 12 amp the other is a 25 amp. Both are about the same size and weight. I am using an 8C 11.1 1500mah LIPO battery (GP Ultrafly I believe).

When I fly it, it seems that it is very sluggish. The first minute or so, it seems ok, but after that, it is very sluggish. I just can't seem to get the thing to do anything once that first minute is over. I think that I am overworking the battery using an 8C with this.

What I was thinking is that if I go to a different battery, one with a higher C rating (say 15 C) 1500 mah.