Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

New 60 size U-Can-Do

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

New 60 size U-Can-Do

Old 12-22-2013, 09:37 PM
  #1  
Ernie Misner
Thread Starter
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,037
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 60 size U-Can-Do

Hey, has anyone taken a peek at this new U-Can-Do from Tower? Hmmmm, what engine would suit it best though? It's big for a 55 size plane at 59" wingspan and 6.5-7.25 lb. I'm thinking of trying an OS 65AX on it possibly. The engine would be inverted I think with a Mac's profile black one piece muffler. That would put the muffler just below the wing and angles outward a bit.
Old 12-23-2013, 05:46 AM
  #2  
zacharyR
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 650
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

the old one was a 7 pound plane all day ...

they are calling for a rim fire 80 out run 2k WATTS

so reall question isn' t the questions your asking .. the real question is DLE 20 too heavey ? prop clearence ...

thumbs down to your 65 AX !! would be the vary bottom engine choice in my book

the power 60 and rim fire are vastly superior power and really has a mid range to play in ..


only thought i'd have about a 20cc in this plane is blowing the tail feathers off with flutter . and folding the wing ... i Noticed they dind't up grade those cheese .256 " turn buckels ... I rember those flexing with just a 46 . on the plane .. I would be highly worried about them flexing and being prone to flutter ..
really wish they had 440 turn buckels almost like evey other new plane this size on the market ..

I do see they re did the counter balance on the elevators ..


and i don't think this is the " new 60 size " i think they offerd up a new model and its the not so popular size a 50 like the Red revolver was a 50 size ... seems to to be the new trend but .. I think the old school blue and white 60 was was surely a bigger plane ..

Last edited by zacharyR; 12-23-2013 at 05:58 AM.
Old 12-25-2013, 10:16 PM
  #3  
ameyam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

GP have discontinued the Reactor & Reactor Bipe. Thus they suddenly don't have any 3d airplane in the 60" size. This is probably the replacement.

The Reactor 46 I had flew very well with the 2-56 rods for 3 years & over several engines & crashes. Never had a pushrod problem. Granted this airplane can't take a dle. However, looking at the cowl, it's probably designed for the fs95 or like. OS 4c engines tend to do well inverted

Ameyam
Old 01-03-2014, 10:30 AM
  #4  
ameyam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well, this airplane is now in stock in case anyone wants. I am still sitting on the fence

Ameyam
Old 01-03-2014, 10:48 AM
  #5  
zacharyR
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 650
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

we often don't agree on things Aemyam .. but we both agree on being on the reserved about the new u can do .. I'd let someone eles do some testing

personly I know id be worried about snaping the wing or blowing off the feather's .. like i did on the old U can do ..

I'm sure somone will buy this thing and put a gas engine on it

but just offer up some advice alot i mean theres alot of airframes in 60" some of the markets already cornerd in the 3D realm ,, take your time
Old 01-03-2014, 05:27 PM
  #6  
ameyam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

my thoughts exactly. Plus I already have a very similar airplane in the Phoenix Topstar

Btw, dont you think a dle 20 on this will be too large?

Ameyam
Old 01-04-2014, 02:04 AM
  #7  
izzy-israel-73
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: melbournevictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What about the 91 FX Ringed engine same weight as the 61 FX wish I knew that before I purchased my 61FX !!!

Last edited by izzy-israel-73; 01-04-2014 at 02:10 AM.
Old 01-04-2014, 08:05 AM
  #8  
zacharyR
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 650
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Rim fire 80 and a 6 cell is acutly more weight then a dle 20 , only thing would worrie me is you'd have to do some work on the fire wall maybe

but DLE 20 and the great planes 60 size airplanes have been working like the revolver and the escape , big stick 60 .. it would be border line .

also flyinggaints has a thread of aDLE 20 going on a 60 " EF extra ..
Old 01-04-2014, 11:52 PM
  #9  
Ernie Misner
Thread Starter
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,037
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by izzy-israel-73 View Post
What about the 91 FX Ringed engine same weight as the 61 FX wish I knew that before I purchased my 61FX !!!
Hey Izzy! Wish I had a nickel for all the guys who bought a 61 or a 40 then found out they weighed the same (or MORE) than a 91 or a 46! It is funny that many times they d weigh more because there is more steel in the liner (smaller bore) that the larger counterpart. Yes, the 91FX would fly the Do fine but 2-cycle glow engines are not popular with the real 3D guys. You need "right now" blips of torque to keep the nose up in high alpha maneuvers like a rolling harrier. Only the 4 stroke glow or 2 stroke gassers seem to meet that demand.
Old 01-05-2014, 09:36 AM
  #10  
ameyam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would second that. I have another take in the discussion. If you go through the manual, you will notice they recommend to install the 2c engine at 45 Deg from inverted rather than inverted even though it messes up the cowl. I think this is to get over the problem with the 2c engines and this model. Having had a similar model and after reading through the manual, there just isint enough space to lower the tank to be inline with the carb if you install an inverted 2C. The tank centreline will be higher than the engine and so you will have the engine flod when filled and lean out as the fuel gets used up. I know there is a way to tune around it but it does create unreliability at both ends of the tank capacity. Lost a 75AX that way.

The way the cowl is designed and the way the airplane is intended to fly (i.e. not fast, only stunts), the 4c is the way to go. If I bought the airplane (and thats a big IF), I would go with my FS91. If I had a 81a I would use that. Or better still the FS110A thats actually lighter than the FS91. In either case, I am spoilt on the throttle response of these engines

As I read through, I also looked for particular issues I have had with GP recently and am sure that this model will have the same- one is the tank height I already mentioned. Second is the thin-ness of the firewall and the LG Block- I think this model will have those problems too.

Ameyam
Old 01-05-2014, 12:38 PM
  #11  
zacharyR
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 650
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

you guys are wasting time with your two stroke talk if you want to 3D this thing no thrill that Rim fire 80 is ideal
Old 01-12-2014, 09:26 AM
  #12  
bladebender
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WATERFORD, MI
Posts: 495
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

the landing gear is held in by a very sm block please keep track of how many flights you get before it brakes Mine was one on the old one
Old 01-13-2014, 01:55 AM
  #13  
ameyam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thats what I said

Ameyam
Old 01-13-2014, 09:55 AM
  #14  
izzy-israel-73
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: melbournevictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I love my 91 FS so much I went and purchased the pumped version am hurting at the moment as my plane fell out of the sky the other day came in pretty hard broke the rear plate and stand for the inlet pipe to the carbie just cost me 50 dollars in getting replaced oh and a APC 15x4 prop 30 dollars plane was a ride off!!!
Old 01-28-2014, 09:27 PM
  #15  
autoguns
 
autoguns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 831
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have one with a ys110 with a 17x4w in it and its a monster . A guy I fly with has a 91 fx in his but he always says he should have went with the 110
Old 01-29-2014, 12:48 AM
  #16  
ameyam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai, INDIA
Posts: 2,224
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

autoguns, this is the new yellow and white UCD, not the blue and white one. Is this the one you have? If so, you can be our guinea pig

Ameyam
Old 01-31-2014, 10:20 PM
  #17  
Ernie Misner
Thread Starter
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,037
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I received my new SF Do, opened the box, and it looks big and NICE! Man that one piece wing is huge! The monokote factory job looks perfect so far. (whew, you never know....) I have a Saito 100 for it and a 2100 mah LIFE battery from tower. See any reason why Hitec 485 servos would not be okay on 6 volts for this plane? I got the digital verson of the 485 for the rudder, the elevators takes 2 servos, so unless the 485's are not strong enough for the ailerons I should be okay. I might replace the alum gear with carbon fiber. I have other projects waiting so don't know how soon I'll get this Do in the air.
Old 02-07-2014, 01:58 PM
  #18  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,551
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I'll just say it flies well Pic of first flight with cowl off.....
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6927.JPG
Views:	217
Size:	2.96 MB
ID:	1966361  
Old 02-07-2014, 09:42 PM
  #19  
Ernie Misner
Thread Starter
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,037
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tailskid View Post
I'll just say it flies well Pic of first flight with cowl off.....
Good pic tailskid! Good to hear it flies nice too. Plz give us all the info you can.... Is that 2 stroke a 55 or 65, or? How did it balance for you? What servos did you use? More, more, more..... lol
Old 02-07-2014, 10:40 PM
  #20  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,551
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

It has a 65AX two-stroker and didn't need any ballast to come out at 5.5" back from the leading edge. She flies really well but the engine still is new so I'm not pushing it too much. Used Futaba 3152 all around. Here's another pic....
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6911.JPG
Views:	159
Size:	4.93 MB
ID:	1966434   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7017_resized.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	1966435  
Old 02-08-2014, 05:54 AM
  #21  
jdan
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: media, PA
Posts: 170
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I started mine yesterday. This is what I found so far. The slots in the elevator are too wide for the ca hinges,I had to go to pinned hinges. Half of the small screws and washers are missing
Although the manual shows 4 screws holding the aileron horns, only 2 are backed up with hardwood. The covering is removed from the center of the elevator. When I centered it on the fus.
1/16" of bare balsa is exposed. I'll keep you posted.
jdan
Old 02-08-2014, 03:32 PM
  #22  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,551
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Hummm.............I used their hinges for the elevator and I'm confused about the slot being too wide....now if they were too narrow there would be a problem.....I have a 'bag' of unused small screws (but no washers)....watch carefully the size of those bolts for the horns as the ailerons are thicker than the elevator....
Old 02-09-2014, 12:55 AM
  #23  
Ernie Misner
Thread Starter
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,037
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I think he means the hinges are sloppy in the slots. Aren't some of the control surfaces pre-hinged? .... thought it said that but maybe not.
'
Old 02-09-2014, 03:04 AM
  #24  
jdan
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: media, PA
Posts: 170
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What I meant by the slots being too wide is, not enough contact for the ca to hold. After about an hour the hinges pulled out. The rest of the hinges are pre-glued.
I also have a bag of small hardware but I sorta' think everything should be in the box.
Old 02-09-2014, 01:46 PM
  #25  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,551
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Yes, the ailerons are already glued in place....but I did use their hinges on the rudder and elevator - I'll run downstairs right now and check (PULL) the elevators and see if any break lose! Sure don't want that happening in the air. I have to confess, I have been flying this bird too fast and they have held on so far - but you never know what the next flight will bring. Thanks for the head's up!

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.