Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Prop Suggestions

Community
Search
Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Prop Suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2014, 06:54 AM
tturkey

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prop Suggestions

What prop pitch lends itself to better to 3D flying.

One of my favorite airplanes is my Hog Bipe I built from a Sig kit. It has an OS 91 four cycle and a 14x6 prop. I've been flying it for 5 years now.

I've started to get real aggressive with it but I just can seem to get it to hover. I can hold a hover for a little but it has to be at full throttle. Any wind can blow it off and I just don'y have the power to pull out or correct.
I realize the control surfaces are not big but I thought a different prop might change the air flow and give me more control.

Should I change to a larger diameter and lower pitch or a smaller diameter with a higher pitch.

Any Hog Bipe fans out there.

I also have a new OS v95 four cycle but don't know if there is much power difference between the two.
Old 05-11-2014, 07:58 PM
daffydd

I would go up in diameter and down in pitch . try a different props , os 91 can spin a large range of sizes . try wood props ; carbon fiber . just experiment with a range
Old 05-11-2014, 09:21 PM
Bozarth
My Feedback: (15)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You are too far off for a change in the prop to make a difference. A good set-up will hover well below full throttle. The small percentage in increased thrust (if any) that a different prop might make won't get you there. You sound like you are ready for a true 3d airplane/engine combo.

Kurt
Old 05-12-2014, 05:02 PM
daffydd

You are quite right Bozarth . Start anew tturkey .there are many great 3 D planes available these days Keep the hog for hooning
Old 05-14-2014, 03:22 PM
tturkey

Thanks for the reply.