Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

will a cap 232 make a good 3D plane?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

will a cap 232 make a good 3D plane?

Old 01-10-2002, 08:12 AM
  #1  
bugsiegel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: brooklyn, NY
Posts: 568
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default will a cap 232 make a good 3D plane?

I have a 40 size cap 232 that i'm seriously thinking about overpowering for 3D style flying.
are the caps any good for this style of flying?
Old 01-10-2002, 08:37 AM
  #2  
JBH
Banned
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 666
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default will a cap 232 make a good 3D plane?

Of course... yes... they're naturals for it. My two Caps are awesome at 3D as well as most everything else. They are 33% and 25%. Your .40 is going to be more of a handful while doing hovering maneuvers... requiring a faster reaction time... but that just makes it more fun.

In addition to giving it the extra power... make every effort to keep it light. Also, you'll need large control throws... so get at least 45 degrees setup on all of them (make sure your servos and linkages can handle that, too). Spoilerons are nice if you have a 6 or 8 channel programmable radio, as well.
Old 01-10-2002, 02:25 PM
  #3  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default will a cap 232 make a good 3D plane?

Heres a pic of mine.
Its the Great Planes .46 size. (not an ARF!)Mine isnt overpowered for 3D but still is a blast to fly. I have an OS .46 in it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	856_60.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	1375  
Old 01-10-2002, 02:26 PM
  #4  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default will a cap 232 make a good 3D plane?

The bottom,
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	857_60.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	1376  
Old 01-10-2002, 03:35 PM
  #5  
Nathan
Administrator
My Feedback: (12)
 
Nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,228
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default will a cap 232 make a good 3D plane?

I have a 40 size Cap 232 as well, and think it's better suited for IMAC style flying. The Cap in general is certainly capable of 3D maneuvers, but I don't think it would be very fun. IMO, the bigger stuff is better suited to 3D than the 40/60 size airplanes.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.