Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

cut off switch for gas engines

Community
Search
Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

cut off switch for gas engines

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2008, 08:47 PM
Penuts

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cut off switch for gas engines

Im new to gas engines and i know you need to have a cut off switch for the engine.
So how's the best way to do that and do they make a electronic cut off switch? that you can go through your receiver ? Any help would be appreciated,thank you.

Old 03-28-2008, 08:52 PM
nitro wing
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: cut off switch for gas engines

Many of us use the Smartly cut off,a simple,sure and inexpensive way to get that feature.It also programs into the failsafe easy.

http://www.smart-fly.com/Products/Ignition/ignition.htm
Old 03-28-2008, 10:35 PM
Penuts

Very interesting, thank you nitro
Old 03-28-2008, 10:52 PM
MikeEast
My Feedback: (3)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You can very easily setup a cutoff in your transmitter if you have a computer radio. There should be a function for throttle cut or throttle kill that can be used. You simply activate the mix and assign it to the switch you want to use and then while looking at the throttle barrel adjust the throttle cut mix and throttle trim to get it set where you need it. I typically activate the mix before I setup my throttle servo and then with the mix active with the switch in kill position set the min and max throw on the servo. Once you get the throw set you turn the mix off, and increase the trim until the butterfly is open to about where idle speed will be. Once you get that done you should be able to watch the butterfly open and close as the switch is moved back and forth.

There are also electronic shutoff switches and they work but you dont really need them.
Old 03-28-2008, 11:05 PM
greyfoxx