Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

UCanDo3d mixes

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

UCanDo3d mixes

Old 07-15-2003, 05:14 PM
  #1  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Well just got her flying this week but I would lke to know what kind of radio mixes ye guys have mixed in , and for what manouvers? I know it is prob mentionned in big forum but twould take ages to read it all.

Thanks
Old 07-15-2003, 05:25 PM
  #2  
hovermaster
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
hovermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

There are a bunch of different kinds of mixes ive seen for this plane. Spoilerons, for harriers, where the ailerons kick up, and it helps get rid of the wobble in harriers. Flaperons, for better walls and parachutes, and tight waterfalls and loops, where when you pull up the ailerons go down, and the opp or down. and finally Flaps, for landing and slow flying. Well good luck, the plane flys much better when some programing is done.


Chris
Old 07-15-2003, 05:29 PM
  #3  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Thx , but I have tried the waterfall ( without mixes) and cannot get it to work , I pull up to almost a stall and then full push on elevator and full power is this correct? , I will try with the mix but am unsure if I am trying it correct
Old 07-15-2003, 05:37 PM
  #4  
hovermaster
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
hovermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

You are doing it correctly but you might not have enough control through, the flaperon mixing helps a lot. you just have to play with it some untill you get it the way you like it. it take time. good luck.



Chris
Old 07-15-2003, 05:39 PM
  #5  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Tx Chris will try again wit mix
Old 07-15-2003, 05:59 PM
  #6  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

could also try mixing your elevator halves to the ailerons...
Old 07-15-2003, 06:08 PM
  #7  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

I assume you mean elevator halves travel same direction as ailerons? , with this mix , is the only aplication faster roll rate? , and this should be on a switch or do some guys leave it permanently on?
Old 07-15-2003, 06:20 PM
  #8  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

right now the only mixes i have on mine is for knife edge. i can complete waterfalls with out any mixing and it stay on track well. i am running a gasser on mine.
40 degrees of elevator throw on 3d rates

http://www.rcuniverse.com/showthread...78&forumid=230 :
Old 07-15-2003, 11:13 PM
  #9  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

When mixing flaperons , what percentage of the elevator travel in reference to the flaps do ye guys use? or is it just enough for the elevator to keep thr plane level in straight flight?
Old 07-15-2003, 11:33 PM
  #10  
smokingcrater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Up north, ND
Posts: 2,353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

I assume you mean elevator halves travel same direction as ailerons? , with this mix , is the only aplication faster roll rate? , and this should be on a switch or do some guys leave it permanently on?
Correct, mixing reverse would be interesting, but probably useless and maybe unflyable. Set up as flaps so they move a fixed amount, it could possibly REALLY slow you down alot.

As far as moving the same direction, some of the military fighters use this also, watch some carrier landings and you can see the elevators working for roll control. It would be most benefitial for really slow/stalled stuff, it just gives you some more authority for the ailerons.
Old 07-16-2003, 09:06 PM
  #11  
hovermaster
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
hovermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Flaperons are set up in the elevator to flap function. This works when you pull up elevator both ailerons go down, and when you push down elevator the ailerons go up. You should probably start at around 10% or so. You dont need a lot, too much and it doesnt work.
Old 07-25-2003, 07:38 PM
  #12  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Hi
still cant get it to watefall , even with elevator mixed to ailerons , it just wants to do a tight loop? any ideas?
Old 07-25-2003, 10:05 PM
  #13  
robert
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: private, FRANCE
Posts: 2,504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Cool obi1, you must have one of the first UCD's in Ireland.
You're gonna miss a great comp tommorow!
Old 07-25-2003, 10:24 PM
  #14  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

I would have gone Rob but I was due to go non hols but postponed till next week , pity , found out too late , may take a drive up though to watch , i got the UCD about a month ago , great model
Old 07-26-2003, 11:51 PM
  #15  
manofsteel
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, DE
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

I have the 60 size U Can Do and I do all of the manuvers without any mixing at all. It's all in the fingers! Walls, Harriers and hovers and knife edges with ease. It's all in the balancing of your plane
Have a great flying day!
Old 07-27-2003, 04:31 PM
  #16  
tanner1
Junior Member
 
tanner1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Russellville, AR
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

I was going to purchase the .46 U Can Do but heard it was a big hassle to setup, balance and don't do 3D flying well. If that is true I would move up to the .60 size but I have a extra .51 super tigre engine I want to use. Would this be enough power for the .60
Dan
Old 07-27-2003, 04:41 PM
  #17  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Absolutely not Tanner , dont even think a 60 would be enough for it , this really needs a powerful engine to enjoy its ability
Old 07-27-2003, 04:43 PM
  #18  
robert
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: private, FRANCE
Posts: 2,504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Did you go up and watch? My Funtana bit the dust at the end, but other than that t'was a great day.
Old 07-27-2003, 04:44 PM
  #19  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

obi1

tru dat


funtana boy what happened as we always say at the end
Old 07-27-2003, 04:53 PM
  #20  
robert
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: private, FRANCE
Posts: 2,504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

It looks more and more like the lead on the connector of the regulator came off with engine vibration now that I think of it. I was talking to the guy who was flying it and the more I think about it, the more i think that thats what happened.
Oh well, I am selling loads of stuff to finance a Funtana PRO.
Old 07-27-2003, 06:25 PM
  #21  
Welsh3D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,140
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Robert if you need a hand building it i'm always here ya know. Not worth getting it pro built incase similar happens again, its just such a waste of money. My funtana flies ace and its nearly 11lbs with the batteries i'm using. It'll have to be soon though cuz i'll be building that Katana I hope
Old 07-27-2003, 07:32 PM
  #22  
obi1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: corkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Pity about your plane Rob , did you say sum1 else was flying it? double bummer , i never use a regulator as I think its another link in the chain to fail , I use 5cell on most of my models and never have a problem , who won the f3a , Ray again?
Old 07-27-2003, 07:38 PM
  #23  
robert
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: private, FRANCE
Posts: 2,504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCanDo3d mixes

Yeah, Ray won........

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.