Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

FUNTANA Flat Spin ?

Community
Search
Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

FUNTANA Flat Spin ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2003, 01:39 PM
MXJP

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FUNTANA Flat Spin ?

I would like to find out how people are entering into a flat spin using the Funtana 40. I am new to 3D flying and I would like to learn to flat spin. From what I hear it is somewhat easy with the Funtana.
Old 07-25-2003, 02:39 PM
TailTwister
My Feedback: (1)

Mine will not do a flat spin at all. I can flat spin a trainer, but not the FuntanaS 40. I contacted Hangar 9 and was told to put the CG all the way back, and it will do it. My CG now is within 3/16 of an inch of the rear most recommended point (5 11/16 by the book). I'm going to put the CG in the trunk (6 to 6 1/4 I think) and try again.

Mine won't flat spin, KE spin, or blender. It also won't waterfall.

I'm almost wondering if the ailerons have too much impact. Maybe it wants a rudder/elevator only spin with the ailerons centered???
Old 07-25-2003, 03:03 PM
barlows

Default Go opposite ailerons

Tailtwister, you're close.

Mine will do some of the best flat spins I've ever seen, including big planes. I enter the spin just like any other plane, with all three surfaces deflected. Once you're in the spin you'll still be descending fairly quick. Add a little throttle, and the descent will slow. Then start backing out the aileron input, and gradually go the other way on the ailerons. You should end up will about 1/2 throttle, and almost full opposite aileron. Once you get there, the spin will be totally flat, and you should stop your descent.

I'm sure this plane will ascend while flat spinning (especially inverted), but I'm probably lacking the thumbs to make it happen.