RCU Forums - View Single Post - SuperTigre mid-range problems?
View Single Post
Old 09-06-2006, 02:17 AM
NM2K
My Feedback: (14)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: SuperTigre mid-range problems?

ORIGINAL: oldtyme

Hi all,

I was just in the Scale Aircraft forum and someone there mentioned that the newer SuperTigre G75 engines were having problems with mid-range fuel problems in that they ran rich in the mid-range band which could make the engine un-reliable in the event you have to throttle up to do a go-around or other maneuvers after you have throttled back. I have purchased 4 new G75's for various projects because the kit manufacturer suggested that these would be a good fit for the
planes using in-cowl headers and mufflers. Of course in warbirds such as the TF P47 and AT6 and the H9 P47, I wanted realism so I went with a substantial investment here. I'm hoping that this is
not a chronic problem and can be dealt with.

I am not new to the hobby, I have been flying since 1980 but have never owned anything except K&B and OS............and I have a lot of engines.

All input is welcomed and appreciated. I'm commited to these engines now so just wanted to know if there is any basis for this statement and if so how have you dealt with it........I'm not going to sell them so I need to know...........can't afford to buy anything else either.......getting ready to retire and I thought I was set.

Thanks in advance,
Andy

----------------

Was the person that posted about the rich midrange problem running a pump? That could cause the engines to run rich in the midrange if the pump pressure was turned up too high and the high and low speed mixture needles were adjusted to compensate for the condition.