RCU Forums - View Single Post - What is the pupose of ESc capacitors?
View Single Post
Old 09-09-2006, 04:54 PM
zaphod42
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is the pupose of ESc capacitors?

Access

I didn't set out to 'dis' you - I hadn't seen these particular parts before but I stand by my statements. By the way, I do have a formal education in electronics - I am a junior engineer for a company that makes high horsepower brushless motors and controllers (up to 150 horsepower). I am currently laying out a PCB for a high energy DC-DC converter (more than 50A at over 300 volts) so I know quite a bit about trace widths. It is true that you want to keep trace widths as high as possible (less voltage drop means less heat buildup in the board). Normal design procedures call for decoupling capacitors (usually 0.1 or 0.01 ufD) as close as possible to the device using the current but it is common practice to put the big filter capacitors off in the corner of the design and away from any signal electronics to keep down EMI noise problems.