RCU Forums - View Single Post - sea lite
Thread: sea lite
View Single Post
Old 12-31-2006, 10:05 AM
ianmcphsn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: sea lite

RIPMAX SEA-LITE

As this thread enabled me to have an excellent first day's sailing, I should paste a report, as it might be helpful to the folk who first asked whether the Sea Lite was of any use.
I "hit the floor running" with the trials, as I have some dinghy sailing experience, and also belong to a fairly respectable dinghy sailing club. The lunch table at the club proved invaluable, as a couple of people present had had model yacht experience with the standard model racing classes, and lots have off-shore experience.
Firstly, as to the hull and rig [excluding sail]. Consensus view was that it was an excellent model of a serious off-shore racing/cruising yacht. "Good enough to go on the mantelpiece". No-one yet has recognised the class/make, though it could possibly be one of the standard 40 footers. Boat Show visits might firm up on this. The designer has paid considerable attention to getting the detail correct within the limitations of scaling and of having a working model. In this, it is quite different from the model yacht racing classes, which are free-range designs.
Similarly, it was noted that it was small enough to fit into a car easily, whereas the standard classes usually had to be disassembled.
The outboard was noted appreciatively - it is, of course, much of a standard fitment on full size, and this can be tilted up, just as in big brother. In my tests, it proved scale effective, being used to move Sea Lite out of the way of a big dinghy sharpish, and backing out from under a jetty where it had hidden itself. Important for sailing on casual waters, where continuous access to the water all the way round is not always possible, and bushes overhang.