RCU Forums - View Single Post - New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System
Old 01-14-2010, 09:50 PM
Striker

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Guys, though I am an electronic tech, I did not want to remove the charging circuit diode for fast charging, not for fear or hurting the A9 but for warranty purposes etc. I decided instead to do a neat little mod which I am almost sure wont void the warranty.

PLEASE TAKE NOTE THAT:

1. I AM IN NO WAY RECOMMENDING THIS MOD TO ANYONE
2. THAT I AM A TRAINED AND CERTIFIED ELECTRONIC TECHIE SINCE 1987
3. THAT I HAVE BEEN DESIGNING AND BUILDING ELECTRONIC CIRCUITS SINCE JESUS WAS LEARNING TO WALK ON WATER
4. THAT THIS IS NOT A "DO IT YOURSELF" WRITE UP, BUT SHOWING WHAT I DID AS A SOLUTION TO "MY" NEED
5. THAT IF YOU DECIDE TO DO THIS YOU ARE DOING IT AT YOUR OWN RISK AND I DO NOT ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM

I find the 13000mA battery more than enough for the A9 and so wanted to ensure fast charging without constantly removing it to do so. So after looking at the space in the battery compartment, I realized that I can mount an auxiliary fast charging jack on the battery cover.

So I bought a nice good quality (US made) surface mount charging jack which has a different size from the stock one on the A9, did some measurements on the cover and how it sits on the A9. I purposely chose to use a different size so that I can’t mix up the chargers.

I soldered the wires observing the polarity of the charging jack, shrink wrap them, drilled a hole on the battery cover, threaded the jack firmly onto it, removed the battery from the TX, removed a small amount of insulation from the battery pack wires AT TWO DIFFERENT POINTS. It’s an old preventative measure I use so that if for some ungodly reason the insulation or heat shrink did come off, the exposed wires can never make contact.