Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Wisdom Sought

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2004, 03:01 PM
grempel1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wisdom Sought

Greetings All,

I am new to the RC Universe and I am new to RC Video, but I have been here as a guest for about 2 years and have considerable video experience in other areas.

I am here seeking the same kind of info that I periodically seek for my Video and Sound System---kinda objective, experience-based sound advice.

I am about to buy a video system and would like some specific advice---and yes, I have read most of the messages and 1the FAQs here, and on other forums, and on retailers and manufacturers websites, so please bear with me. And please recognize that I am attempting a good, solid system---not the world's best of any particular item.

1. CCD Size and Composition
What size is best---say, is there a size which allows or use of a light pipe or fiber, so all I have exposed to the elements and a crash is the fiber rather than the camera? What lux level works best? Any insights color vs. B&W? Comments on pixel density?

2. Communications & DSP
Having reviewed that various camera/transmitter packages, I haven't yet come upon anything that attract me. Specifically, I am first attempting to determine what modem baud rates correspond to what pixel densities and frequencies. I presume the modem circuitry is located in the transmitter. What I am looking for is a chip or pcb circuit that combines DSP, a powerful compression algorithm and the modem. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Obviously, the more I can compress, the less transmission bandwidth and the greater the input signal bandwidth allowed with the system.

3. Communications