Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Camera Recommedations

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2005, 09:55 PM
IBrakeForNobody
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Camera Recommedations

Hey
I was wondering if my Hobbico Avistar could be used to take arieal photography...okay, dumb question (if a LT-40 can do it I think my Avistar can) Anyway, I'm new to arial photography and I would like to know of some good starter cameras. I would prefer to spend under $100 if possible because I just want the camera for messing around. I saw a couple of guys at our club with arial photography and I have to try this for myself! any feedback is appriciated to the arial photo newbie here. Thanks!
Old 01-23-2005, 10:32 PM
Fubar-One
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Camera Recommedations

You talking video, wireless video, digital still or actual film?
Your Avistar should be able to carry most of the above.
Old 01-23-2005, 10:35 PM
IBrakeForNobody

I would like a camera that could take digital still pics. I was thinking of getting a thin digital camera then sticking it to the side of my Avistar and using a servo to push the shutter button.
Old 01-23-2005, 10:40 PM
Fubar-One

Look on Ebay, etc. for Aiptek cameras as a starter. I have the Aiptek MegaCam 1.3 version but there is a more recent advanced version out there. You can rubberband it to the side of the plane and stick a small servo on it for activation. You will need to keep taking pix every 30 seconds or so to keep it awake, unfortunately.
There are setups and instructions for wiring a PIC chip into it to keep it awake, power it from the planes rx and fire it using your transmitter.
Kinda a ***** to wire up but works great. It is small enough to be carried aloft by a GWS Slow Stick so your Avistar wouldnt even notice it.