Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Business or no business?

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2009, 07:11 PM
rwagner24

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Business or no business?

Hi guys I am also new to the rc ap world. I have been flying rc helis for about 8 years. Last year I stumbled on airfoilhelicam.com by accident and have had a intrest in ap ever since. I now have a Trex 600E with a airfoil Mini Pro One mount. I am using Canon's new Power Shot SX1IS camera. I would really like to start doing this on the side for people to have pictures of their homes and maybe get hooked up with a realtor and do some pics for them. My understanding is the FAA considers it illegal but isn't enforcing anything yet. Please give me some feedback (good or bad) what is the safest way to do this. I was thinking of advertising as a "low level aerial photography service" may also consider adding a mast setup to the equipment list. I have a friend thats a firefighter that is intrested in a complete gas setup to put a FLIR system on for search and rescue. Thanks for any advice.
Old 07-01-2009, 11:22 AM
_kyle_

Default RE: Business or no business?

That sounds like a great idea. I wish I had some advice for the details of the business, but I would definitely say try it on a small scale. Maybe first you could just go very local with people you know who are selling or maybe ask somebody who is selling a house if you could take pictures for practice? Then you could take those images and feedback to a realtor or something. That sounds like a lot of fun. I'm not sure about the legal aspects either. Thats kind of a bummer. I feel like nobody would bother you about it.
Old 07-01-2009, 01:14 PM
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I suggest you ask the same question here:

[link]http://runryder.com/helicopter/f25p1/?top=1246471999[/link]

Rafael
Old 07-01-2009, 02:19 PM