Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Finding the model's correct CG

Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Finding the model's correct CG

Old 04-15-2022, 04:22 PM
karolh

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Finding the model's correct CG

As a scratch builder I've always used one of the oneline CG calcuiators to find a starting point CG for my models and have been quite happy with the results. In recent times however I've been hearing more and more about the accuracy of the Vanessa balancing rig in finding the proper CG, and am wondering how close are the results from both methods. I would certainly appreciate hearing from anyone who has used both methods as a comparission.
Old 04-16-2022, 07:37 AM
allanflowers

Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts

It seems to me that the CG calculators tell you where the CG should BE. The Vanessa rig measures where it IS on the model (you then can add weights to shift it to where ever you want it to be).
Old 04-16-2022, 10:25 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 133 Likes on 115 Posts

I agree with Allen. The big question for each model is where the CG should be. Too many times I see models that are balanced too far forward and results in an airplane that flies poorly and overall more difficult to fly well.
Old 04-16-2022, 12:23 PM
karolh

I've always used an initial CG location as a starting reference point and then flight trim the model to my likeness. I guess here it's pretty much a case of is the glass half empty or is it half full, as I figure each method has its merits.
Old 04-16-2022, 05:29 PM
BMatthews

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

As the guys mentioned already the Vanessa won't tell you where the CG NEEDS to be. It's just a replacement for your fingertips to show where it's balanced at the moment. It doesn't replace the initial calculations you do with the online CG calculators.