Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Rate Gyros for Automatic Control

Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Rate Gyros for Automatic Control

Old 06-04-2005, 06:13 PM
AirQ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rate Gyros for Automatic Control

Hello,

Where can I find information about rate gyros? I need to know where to buy them, the specifications, how to go about selecting one, and what is best to use with a microprocessor.

I am involved in a research project in which I will show that an inherently unstable aircraft or rocket may be made to fly and maintain any desired angle of attack through the use of automatic control. The rate gyro is needed in a feedback loop to help accomplish this.

Thank you for any and all pointers on this topic. Please post whatever you know about rate gyros. I am an Aerospace Engineer, so feel free to be as technical as you desire.

Thanks.
Old 06-05-2005, 06:04 AM
Warbirdz01
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Rate Gyros for Automatic Control

AirQ......More than likely........your gonna have to touch base with a company like like Sperry, Allied Signal, or one of the Autopilot manufacturers to find out their sources/venders......I am an Aircraft Mechanic with an airline and I do have an FCC as well ..........we pretty much farmed out all that kind of work several years ago after 9/11 or I would call the shop and find out where they obtain replacement parts......Rate gyros are kind of old technology as most of the high tech A/P systems use feedback from accelerometers generally found in the IRS systems or ADIRUs instead of rate gyros........Bill..........
Old 06-06-2005, 06:18 PM
Johng
My Feedback: (4)