Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Dura-Plane with Flaps?

Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Dura-Plane with Flaps?

Old 04-13-2002, 03:38 PM
  #1  
airmark
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MO
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dura-Plane with Flaps?

Has any one heard of or tried using "flaperons" with a Dura-plane?

These designs are strong birds, resistent to hanger rash, should do OK in windy conditions (I think) however they fly - or at least land, faster than most .40 trainers. Perhaps flaperons would slow them down? In my opinion the best trainer on the market today in Sig's Kadat Senior - especially when powered by a 4 stoke motor. Unfortunately this fine model, with its low wingloading, is easily effected by wind.

Maybe a Dura-Plane w/ flaperons would be a rugged bird, not so easily effected by the wind, and with a slow landing speed. What do you think?

Mark in Missouri
Old 04-13-2002, 07:26 PM
  #2  
mrtim
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: allen, KY
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Duraplane

I have a couple of duraplanes that I fly when I want to really wring it out or fly in high wind. They handle the wind really well. I flew a few weekends ago in winds exceeding 30mph and gusting even higher and although it seemed to take forever to fly upwind it would scream going downwind. Landings were no problem in the wind if you were very gentle on the elevator input, pull back just a tiny bit too far and you were 50 feet in the air again.

I am intrigued by the suggestion of flapperons on the duraplane, I may order a new wing kit and convert it to dual aileron servos. It would also eliminate the problem of getting the rubber bands under the control rods. With practice the duraplane will land slowly though, but agreed, not as slowly as an LT40.

I will check into this, you have piqued my interest.
Old 04-14-2002, 09:34 AM
  #3  
00hex
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 256
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dura-Plane with Flaps?

Try it, it works!

I crashed mine and wrecked the wing. When I built a new one I enlarged the hole where the servo goes and put 2 in. Flaperons let it fly really slow, spoilerons make it drop like a stone. Spoilerons also help with inverted flight.

I'm running out of things to change on this plane - it's a taildragger, the tail is bigger, and the ailerons are a little bigger -(instead of sanding the LE, I just glued some triangle stock to the front). It's actually pretty aerobatic now.
Old 04-14-2002, 09:37 AM
  #4  
FHHuber
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: gone,
Posts: 4,923
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dura-Plane with Flaps?

Flaperons and trainers usually don't go together well.

The result is usualy an increase in the "adverse yaw" when using ailerons. This can lead to the student applying more and more aileron, trying to overcome the turn, and then the plane suddenly tip-stalls, and smacks the ground. I've had adverse yaw with one plane that would overcome the ability of the rudder to correct for it. Newbies would tend to forget to use the rudder to ATTEMPT to fix the problem.

Best not to add the weight and complications. (even though its not much weight....)
Old 04-14-2002, 10:12 AM
  #5  
mrtim
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: allen, KY
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Duraplanes

Personaly I don't consider the duraplane a trainer in any other sense than it's durability. It doesn't fly like a trainer, it's fast and maneuverable, can perform more aerobatics than a conventional trainer and lands like a brick. I would not recommend one for a pure beginner to learn on unless they have no choice but to go it alone.

Only attempt such drastic modifications if you are qualified to do so.

Where would we be if Orville and Wilbur had never made modifications to those bicycle parts?
Old 04-15-2002, 12:27 PM
  #6  
FIVESQUARE
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: little rock, AR
Posts: 623
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default posting location

FhHUBER,
May I ask why you do not post a location?
No problem, I am just curious.
Regards,
DOC
Old 04-15-2002, 01:51 PM
  #7  
00hex
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 256
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dura-Plane with Flaps?

The flaperons won't help at all while you are learning, but they will be fun later. Once the wing is built it will be almost impossible to add them in; if you do it now, all you need to do is enlarge the hole and replace 2 little plywood rectangles. It's just easier to make the modifications while you're building it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.