Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Wrinkles on wings

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Wrinkles on wings

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2006, 02:19 AM
mouthpiec

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wrinkles on wings

Hi,
I had an accident with my trainer, and after i fixed the wings, i had to cover them again, but when i covered them, since i am not a pro, the plastic developed some wrinkles.
Will this affect the flight perfomance

thanks and regards
sandro
Old 09-20-2006, 02:55 AM
ArCeeFlyer
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Wrinkles on wings

Not unless they are really big and floppy wrinkles. If the covering is still generally tight and the wrinkles are small, it shouldn't hurt anything. Obviously, aerodynamic wise, the smoother the covering, the better. Have you tried hitting it with the heat gun again? If there is any shrink left in those areas, it may come out with some concentrated heat. Just be careful not to melt it. If it's Monokote or Ultracote, it will take a lot. I think up around 500 degrees.
Old 09-20-2006, 09:30 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

the plastic developed some wrinkles.
Will this affect the flight perfomance
Yes

The freeflight guys discovered any number of things that have importance to airplanes the size of our models. They discovered that they could change the performance measurably by changing things we'd never believe would matter.

They used turbulator strips for example. They made some of the strips by gluing thread along the span. Most times they had to make the strips thicker than that, but that gives you some perspective. I've seen a glider design that was good become great simply by covering the stabilator with different covering.