Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Phoenix Models Yak 54

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Phoenix Models Yak 54

Old 05-30-2016, 10:54 PM
  #1  
Sukhoi_Madness
Thread Starter
 
Sukhoi_Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Birmingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 579
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Phoenix Models Yak 54

Hi guys,

I have a Phoenix Models Yak 54 .60 - .90 size.

The engine in the assembly manual is an OS .91 but I'd like to put in a petrol engine instead.

Something like a DLE-20RA.

This engine only appears to be about 100grms heavier.

Has anyone got any experience / advice on a petrol engine for this airframe.

Thanks
Old 06-02-2016, 06:52 AM
  #2  
Dan33klein
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I assume your looking to 3D the plane? I have a Phoenix model edge 540 being delivered today. I have a dle20ra resdy to put in it, as many other members did. But the edge is a .91-1.20 size plane. I think the dle20ra would work and it would be a power house, but you may be looking at definetly modifying/reinforcing the engine box/firewall. Not sure how the cowl will fit either... I think you could get it to balance. Move the fuel tank back to under the wing tube. And have your battery/receivee/ throttle servo behind the cg point.

Just my thoughts..
good luck!
Old 06-03-2016, 09:34 AM
  #3  
Sukhoi_Madness
Thread Starter
 
Sukhoi_Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Birmingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 579
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dan33klein View Post
I assume your looking to 3D the plane? I have a Phoenix model edge 540 being delivered today. I have a dle20ra resdy to put in it, as many other members did. But the edge is a .91-1.20 size plane. I think the dle20ra would work and it would be a power house, but you may be looking at definetly modifying/reinforcing the engine box/firewall. Not sure how the cowl will fit either... I think you could get it to balance. Move the fuel tank back to under the wing tube. And have your battery/receivee/ throttle servo behind the cg point.

Just my thoughts..
good luck!
Thanks for the feedback.

Not for 3D actually just scale aero so I'm not worried if its a little heavy as long as it balances nicely.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.