Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

To fly or not to fly?

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

To fly or not to fly?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2007, 12:34 PM
ccameselle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To fly or not to fly?

Ok I have a new Phoenix Extra 330s. I just finished putting it together and I want to fly it really bad. Now that said. Today the wind here in Ft lauderdale is arround 25 Mph and is a cross wind. I am an intermediate pilot with a couple of years of experience, but I have never done a maiden flight in this type of wind. Have you guys ever done a maiden flight with that kind of wind?

Thank you in advanced for your help.

CC
Old 03-22-2007, 12:43 PM
Geistware
My Feedback: (16)

Default RE: To fly or not to fly?

Yes, I have.
Also have taught students in that kind of wind.
Beleive it or not, it forces them to use the throttle.
Best re-enforcement that I have seen for making a pilot understand what the left stick is for (mode 2)
With all that said, if you are not comfortable flying in a strong wind with a good plane that you are familure with, then there is no need to do it on a maiden flight.
Old 03-22-2007, 01:30 PM
flyinrain
My Feedback: (25)

I wouldn’t do a maiden flight with that high of wind even if it weren’t a crosswind. No point in risking your airplane there will be plenty of days in the future to fly it. Just stay within your comfort zone and you will be fine.
Old 03-22-2007, 01:40 PM
NikolayTT

Oh yes, tell me about ... I have collected lot of RC pats in a plastic bag when trying the maiden flight
in strong wind ... Better wait, OR ... there is almost always a good time-interval when you can fly even
if the wind is in average too strong the whole day. If you check the daily speed of the wind in non-stormy
weather, that is usually about 1-2 hours After-Sun-Rise and about 1-2 hours Prior Sun-Set when the wind