Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Pull-Pull Rudder setup

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Pull-Pull Rudder setup

Old 06-04-2007, 10:56 AM
  #1  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pull-Pull Rudder setup

I'm hooking up a Pull-pull rudder system and my question is when do you use a "straight" rudder servo control horn or one of those "SWB" ones with the curved ends?
Old 06-04-2007, 03:19 PM
  #2  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

how much of a space is the rudder horns seperated? this is going to help make the call
Old 06-04-2007, 03:31 PM
  #3  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

They are about 3.5 inches apart, hole-2-hole
Old 06-04-2007, 07:34 PM
  #4  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

yes i would go with the 4" swb for the servo
Old 06-04-2007, 08:04 PM
  #5  
GUNS
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

3D,

Is this for the YAK? I used the SWB 4" with the curved ends on mine, works fine. Also, cross the cables. Love the SWB servo arms, put them on all around on my KMP Yak. 1 1/2" on ailerons and elevators, and 4" on rudder. I've had other arms vibrate loose, even with loctite, not these! Hurry up and get that thing done!!!!

Tim
Old 06-04-2007, 08:53 PM
  #6  
ianwynne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

Hello Guns:

I've read a couple of times about crossing cables in pull-pull configurations.

Could you please explain why?

I'm not doubting that it's the correct thing to, I would just like to understand. I will be setting up an ARF soon with a pull-pull cable on the rudder and I would like to do "the right thing".

Thanks.

Bye, Ian
Old 06-04-2007, 09:54 PM
  #7  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

You only have to cross the lines if the width of the control horn on the servo is "different" from the width of the control horns at the rudder. However, since they end up being different about 80% of the time, its probably just best to count on them having to cross.

I already bought the other servo horns for everything else..... Hmm, ok, maybe I'll exchange those as well since I have to exchange the other ones. Since they cost more, they should be fine with that I would think.

And, yes, I would be ready by next weekend except now I have to wait for control horns to go back and forth in the mail...so probably 2 weekends from now.
Old 06-04-2007, 10:20 PM
  #8  
GUNS
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

3D,

Other servo arms work fine, I just really like having the double retention system on the SWB arms. I went with the 1 1/2" arms just because I went "overkill" on the servos (HT-5985s at 6V) and wanted the extreme throws. 1 1/4" arms will work fine also. I didn't use the control horns that came with the plane, I used Dubro HD horns, I prefer them on the big planes. My rudder horns are 4" apart, but the crossed cables gave me better throws without any binding or rubbing. I am contemplating buying another YAK just to have in the closet in case I screw this one up. It is by far the best flying plane I own! 16lbs even!

Tim
Old 06-05-2007, 08:57 AM
  #9  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

Ok, I bought the 1.5" but they seem overkill.... Didn't you have to reduce the throw in the radio to compensate for them? I was going to exchange them for the 1.25" in the SWB. I really don't want to gunk up my servos with locktite.
Old 06-05-2007, 11:29 AM
  #10  
Kaos Rulz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BONAIRE, GA
Posts: 1,439
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup

OK - I'll play ignorant. What's "SWB" and where can I learn about them? []
Old 06-05-2007, 12:00 PM
  #11  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Pull-Pull Rudder setup


I'm not sure your allowed to post urls on RCU...they got more rules than the government.
Put check troybuiltmodels dot com.

http://troybuiltmodels.com/servoarms.htm

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.