Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Ultrastick 40/ Use nylon hinges?

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Ultrastick 40/ Use nylon hinges?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2008, 11:50 AM
fast9

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ultrastick 40/ Use nylon hinges?

Just getting ready to put my ultrastick 40 together. Should I swap the CA hinges for Nylon. Haven't heard about any real problems on ths model, but I have done this on others. I am a fairly experienced pilot and will likely be throwing it around pretty hard once I get used to it(yes I've crashed my share). BTW, I already know about swapping out for a lighter engine mt and a heavier tail wheel bracket.
Old 10-19-2008, 02:23 PM
outdoorhunting

Default RE: Ultrastick 40/ Use nylon hinges?

IMO the CA hinges would be just fine. I've been using them on all my planes & NEVER had a failure. I fly with about 5 other guys & that's what they use, no problems. I've heard of 1 failure in our club & knowing the guy that had the failure,he prob didn't glue them thoroughly. They are so easy & simple to use,why bother with the high dollar stuff. Good luck
Old 10-19-2008, 05:09 PM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The only time you actually need to swap out CA hinges is when the ones that come with your ARF happen to be cheap quality. And then, there really is not need to use anything other than good quality CA hinges. They last, they're stong, and they're very easy to install well.