Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

help with engine choice for build!

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

help with engine choice for build!

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2009, 04:50 PM
minnow38

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with engine choice for build!

Hi guys, I am a new pilot with a nexstar in my hangar and a great planes minnow needing build. I have been looking at saito 100 and ys 110 engines for this plane as I expect this plane to hold my interest well after my learning curve. A friend of mine got me interested in this hobby and the perverbial hook is sunk deep! Anyone with experience please respond! Not sure what engine and also looking at 2.4 trans and servos for this plane .....I know high torque is the recomendation and dont want to waste my hard earned $ so any input on that is as important to me as reccomendation on the engine!
Old 07-22-2009, 04:53 PM
JOHNS3D
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: help with engine choice for build!

so the airplane is the great planes right?.
Old 07-22-2009, 04:55 PM
minnow38

yes
Old 07-22-2009, 05:22 PM
Zippi
My Feedback: (10)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Just from doing a little search it Looks like the most popular engine in this plane is a YS 110, OS .91, or a OS 1.20 AX. You could use a Saito 1.15 or 1.25.
Old 07-22-2009, 05:24 PM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

YS 1.10 would get my vote. I'd try some sort of intermediate plane before jumping from the Nexstar trainer right to the Minnow however.
Old 07-22-2009, 05:34 PM
minnow38

I understand...have heard that and would like everyone to know I dont plan on flying this plane for a year!  Just want the best components overall....engine, servos, transmitter...etc...
Old 07-22-2009, 06:15 PM
minnow38

27 views and 5 replies 2 of whixh are mine?  My friend told me this was the place to go for advice!  What gives?
Old 07-22-2009, 09:34 PM
A1
My Feedback: (2)