Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

First time user of LiPo Batteries!

Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

First time user of LiPo Batteries!

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2015, 02:36 AM
AstroCoder123

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool First time user of LiPo Batteries!

So I'm new to LiPo Batteries and I have some questions regarding their setup/maintenance/usage

Discharging is the process of lowering the cells 'charge' right?
So what effect does this have and why would you do it? Does that decrease the 'voltage' or the 'mAH'?

Am I right in thinking that as you are using the battery in an RC vehicle, you are effectively discharging it by decreasing the voltage?
And if the voltage is decreasing the performance is decreasing because you have less volts?

Wait...If you are 'discharing' a battery, are you are decreasing the mAH left on the battery or are you decreasing the voltage..or both..? What? Because I read 'capacity determines how long you can run before you have to recharge' but does that mean recharge the 'mAH' or the 'voltage'?

Thanks
Old 09-20-2015, 05:12 AM
aymodeler
My Feedback: (3)

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Discharging is simply the process of using the battery by drawing current from it. It lowers both the amount of charge left in the battery (typical expressed as milliampere-hours or mAh) and the voltage. The charge rating is the amount of current that the battery could produce over a period of time. So a 3200 mHa 3S battery at 100% capacity can supply 3200 millamperes (which is the same as 3.2 amperes) of current for 1 hour, at which point it would be completely discharged. Of course, higher current will discharge the battery in a shorter time.