Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Tell me if this is correct

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2004, 02:33 PM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tell me if this is correct

I finally tried out my New Elite.

I did a cycle on a 1800mah 4C battery (AC RX battery pack) and let it run overnight at 180mah charge. I got up this morning and looked at the charge and the capacity was reading 2258mah! At 5.65V.

Did I miss something here? How can a 1800mah battery pack have a capacity of 2258? I felt the battery pack and it was just warm. I unhooked the battery and shutit down until I can get some answers. I am new to the charging of batteries except through a wall charger. The Hobbico Elite is my first charger.

Thanks
Old 08-04-2004, 03:47 PM

Default RE: Tell me if this is correct

I too would be concerned if I put 2200mah into an 1800mah pack. Something isn't right.
Did you set the proper battery type and the correct number of cells? Each battery type has a different peak voltage/cell. If you set the wong type, it may just keep trying to charge forever because it never gets into the expected voltage range.

I don't have a Hobbico charger... just offering a guess.

-Mark
Old 08-04-2004, 05:16 PM
My Feedback: (41)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

So it charged about an hour and a half longer than it should take for a completely drained pack. Doesn't sound right. Re-check your parameters and let us know what you find. I think this charger times out if it doesn't reach the peak after so much time.
Old 08-04-2004, 05:28 PM

So you put about 122 percent of the capacity back "into" the pack. No worries. Think about the typical charger, we used to charge at C/10 for 16 hours. That is 160% of capacity. The internal resistence of NiCad and NiM packs require this during charging. It is normal. It is also why seeing how much was put back "into" the pack is really sort of meaningless.