Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

Is a balancer required or recommended?

Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Is a balancer required or recommended?

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2006, 08:47 PM
temecularc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is a balancer required or recommended?

I just purchased my first lipo (2C 6000mah from maxamps.com). In the charging instructions, it talks about using a balancer. Can I still run this lipo without a balancer, or should I wait and buy a balancer first? Is it required or recommended?

Thanks in advance!
Gary
Old 10-16-2006, 10:08 PM
Viper87

Default RE: Is a balancer required or recommended?

You can use the LiPo with out the balancer for a little while. I have been using mine for a few months now but very casually. It is very recommended for battery life and performance that you get a balancer. One that I hear about frequently is the [link=http://www.astroflight.com/store/store-type-tem.html?item=products:af-106&sid=0001TuHQF6Ps598bCU661C6]Astro Blinky[/link]. It is relatively inexpensive and will lengthen you batteries life.

So the short answer is no they are not required but rather strongly recommended
Old 10-17-2006, 02:51 AM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

A balancer may be recommended, but is only required if it is required, right? that sounds dumb [:@]

Ok if the pack is out of balance then a balancer may be required. If it is not out of balance then it is not required. The pack should be checked before the first use to see.
Old 10-17-2006, 05:26 AM
TampaRCGuy
My Feedback: (282)

If you have never used a balancer or new to Lipo's, I would not recommend the Blinky. While it works fine, all it is a tiny pcb board with pins on it for the battery. You will have to make up your own wiring. I would recommend the Hyperion LBA10 or e-Station PB-5.