Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Amount of capacity needed

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2008, 04:03 PM
Sherman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Amount of capacity needed

I am new to the battery forum, so please forgive me if I am repeating something covered many, many times.
I fly sport planes (usually 40 size glow) and sometimes 60 size. The batteries I use are the ones that come with the radio or almost alike replacements (500 to 700 MAH) and I use the chargers that come with the radios.

I used to get (many years ago) A good six flights on a charge before I quit flying, but lately I have started getting nervous after only 3 flights, and my voltmeter starts showing marginal voltage. I am now using a computer 6 channel Futaba (also some old non-computer radios) and am wondering if they use more energy, or am I just becoming too cautious? Should I stick with nicads, and is the charger I am using O.M. What capacity would you suggest (six 10 to 15 minute flights are enough) and don't think I need 6 volt. Would apprecite your thoughts. I realize that a higher capacity battery would take more charging time, but would simply a longer charge time be adequate, or do I need to consider a different charger.
Old 05-14-2008, 07:16 AM
Capt Lou

Default RE: Amount of capacity needed

Sherman: