Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Seeking advice

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Seeking advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2011, 02:32 PM
welchcp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seeking advice

Hello all im completly new to the airplane scheme. Ihave had a few electric cars and a few glow cars. Iactually got into this as i am deployed to afghanistan at the moment and working as a mission commander for the Scaneagle UAV. Im an air traffic controller by trade. Idont actually control it but i clear airspace for it. Some of the operators out here are really big into these things and started poking around a bit and found it to be quite intresting.

The questions i had were im looking for a good book that i can read up and learn about more. Here is what i have done so far, i ordered the phoenix simulator with the GX5e. Idont know a damn thing about if its any good but what i read as far as reviews was the simulator was one of the best. Yes im sure everyone probably has their favorite but im learning here so i went by the reviews. Secondly, i got a BNF super cub LP. From what i read its very repairable and a great airplane for someone that is learning. Iwanted to get a thrust jet, but the reality of it was that if i got one i know i just would of torn it to hell in a matter of seconds. Sounds pathetic but my course of action is to basically play on this simulator as much as i can and when i get back stateside i think ill try to fly the cub. I had the software and tx sent out here and te plane sent stateside. Iwould like to get pretty profecient on the cub and then i would like to move up to a habu or simulair.

Will the tx work for both a/c? Is there a good book that i can learn more about this stuff? Good magazine? Good online stores to go through as i will have limited resources where im going.