Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

A 29 year old kid :)

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

A 29 year old kid :)

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2003, 03:59 PM
knight1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A 29 year old kid :)

I am New to R/C planes but familiar to U-control planes back when I was 8-15, My girlfreinds kids wanted to go fly model rockets and I thought back to when i was a kid and remembered how much I loved airplanes and loved to fly them with my dad. I would love to share this experiance with them. I figured I needed to start somewhere. So I bought a P51D mustang RTF, Hopefully this will be a good trainer for me, and I'll get them a smaller slow flyer. My goal is to eventually try a 1/3 scale pitts special-(I love stunt flying and tricks) and the gracefullness of the pitts.
but for now learn, and be learned. So if any of you have any ideas or tips, and expecially safety tips besides stay away from the prop I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks,
Mark
Connecticut
Old 08-11-2003, 04:07 PM
cruzomatic
My Feedback: (17)

WoW,,a P51 as a trainer. Is what you purchased electric or glow? That's a lot of plane to start out with.
Old 08-11-2003, 04:09 PM
Crashem

So if any of you have any ideas or tips, and expecially safety tips besides stay away from the prop I would greatly appreciate it.

Here are a couple of tips.

1. A P-51D is NOT a good trainer!!!!!!!1

2. They best way to learn is with an instructor at a club flying field.

3. Never Fly directly at yourself..

knight1,

Last tip I'm assuming you're buying small electrics as opposed to glow powered planes. Look at the Slow Stick, Pico Stick and Tigermoth by GWS They are good flyers and inexpensive.

Use the search function here and at ezonemag.com to learn more about what qualifies as a "good" trainer plane. everybody has their favorite but they all share similar design and performance characteristics.